Serving Florida's Thoroughbred Horse Racing Owners, Trainers and Horsemen

News / Blog

Sammy Gordon Unanimous Choice as FHBPA President, Again!

Sammy Gordon Unanimous Choice as FHBPA President, Again!


March 29, 2010


In its annual election, the FHBPA membership voted for 5 Board Members for its 15 person Board.  The 2010 election found owners Phil Combest and William Wright again being re-elected to another three year term.  Also elected to a three year term was owner Tom Cannell who will serve his first term on the FHBPA Board.  Trainers Rosemary Homeister and Harry Benson were also re-elected to three year terms.  The owner alternate was Curtis Mikkelsen who will serve a one year term along with trainers Ralph Ziadie and Terry Oliver.


Sammy Gordon was elected for his sixth one year term as President of the FHBPA, the longest tenure of any president in the FHBPA’s history. The full Board of the FHBPA elects the President and Vice Presidents and the President appoints the Secretary and Treasurer with the advice and consent of the Board.  For the second straight year, Mr Gordon was elected by acclamation, and upon an official vote it was again unanimous.  Elected as Vice Presidents were owners Phil Combest and John Penn along with trainer Tim Ritvo.  Barry Rose was again elected as Treasurer and Teresa Palmer was elected Secretary.

You may also like
XBTV: ‘A Candid Conversation With Owner/Breeder Nick Alexander’
Venezuelan, Former Veterinarian Lichoa Saddles First Gulfstream Stakes Winner
Hollendorfer Will Not Be Allowed To Run Horses At Del Mar Meet
Jockeys And Jeans Raises Over $200,000 For PDJF